2017 Officer of the Year

2017 Officer of the Year

The Helena Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (DVSA) Working Group, along with The Friendship Center, announced the recipients of the Officer of the Year award. Attorney General Tim Fox presented the officer with his award. The purpose of the award is to recognize the critical role law enforcement plays in serving victims of domestic and sexual violence in our community, and to highlight the role of uniformed officers in particular.

This year the DVSA Working Group chose to honor Officer John Kaleczyc of the Helena Police Department and Deputy Greg Holmlund of the Lewis and Clark County Sheriff’s Office for their exemplary work in the field of domestic and sexual violence. This is the third year for both officers to receive a nomination for going above and beyond in serving victims of abuse.

Read the full press release by clicking here.

Local Media Coverage:
Helena Independent Record

To nominate a uniformed officer you feel should be recognized for their outstanding work responding to and working with victims of domestic and sexual violence, click here for an application.

Prior DVSA Officer of the Year Honorees:
Helena Police Department Officer Jonathan Cook
Lewis and Clark Sheriff’s Office Deputy Chris Joyce
OY press release 2015

Helena Police Department Officer McLean Peterson
OY press release 2016

Helena Police Department Officer John Kaleczyc
Lewis and Clark Sheriff’s Office Deputy Greg Holmlund
OY press release 2017