2016 Officer of the Year

2016 Officer of the Year

The Helena Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (DVSA) Working Group, along with The Friendship Center, announced the recipient of the Officer of the Year award. Chief Justice Mike McGrath presented the officer with his award. The purpose of the award is to recognize the critical role law enforcement plays in serving victims of domestic and sexual violence in our community, and to highlight the role of uniformed officers in particular.

This year the DVSA Working Group chose to honor Officer McLean Peterson of the Helena Police Department for his exemplary work in the field of domestic and sexual violence. Officer Peterson received multiple nominations for going above and beyond in serving victims of abuse.

Read the full press release by clicking here.

Local Media Coverage:
Helena Independent Record

Prior DVSA Officer of the Year Honorees:
Helena Police Department Officer Jonathan Cook
Lewis and Clark Sheriff’s Office Deputy Chris Joyce
OY press release 2015

Helena Police Department Officer McLean Peterson
OY press release 2016